top of page
Recent Posts

We can not afford another bad deal.

Just before the public hearings into the trans-pacific partnership, a large group of activists and community leaders amassed accross the street in protest of the ibisimal deal. The deal would allow companies to sue Canada for projected losses and see our local area desimated, as businesses left for cheaper labour. As in the past the labour movement spoke out asking for

fair trade deals. A harsh lesson was learned after NAFTA . As the hearing started many of the protesters abandoned their signs to sit in, and speak at the hearings. For me it was the largest action I had witnessed for some time.

Being that this was my first time attending a public hearing, I was told there would be no signs allowed into the meeting. I decided the best course of action was to wear my sign. Our NDP representatves were in attendance, putting the harsh reality on record for Labour. Tracie Ramsey stepping up as a voice of reason addressing the unreasonable. She will be hosting a public information session to educate us on the terrifying reality of this deal. :-)


bottom of page